last
next
archives
newest
email
profile
diaryland
2004-05-10, 5:48 p.m.

Beat me in my conscience, with your innocent words.

I know you think you're helping, but sometimes it hurts.

You tell me my heart is worn on my sleeve, and I should put it away.

You tell me I don't deserve the words once thrown my way.

We talk of everything but it all comes back to this.

You are with someone else; I am placing my heart on a shelf.

One I cannot reach.

The story will never end, I know that now.

Should I stop writing it? But the words keep coming out.

You tell me I should have no regrets,

never let someone burn me twice.

I tell you what you needed to hear,

that you cannot help who you fall in love with,

you cannot force it. You know this.

Why is it we're the same, so much the same?

And anytime we get close, we never push away?

We just go in a direction unknown.

I'm not sure what we are anymore.

I called you after we talked for hours

over a couple of beers the other night.

To tell you thank you for your words.

Because whether or not they were true, they helped.

Only you.

And here we are, once again.

Something I've found is this: that it does not matter,

we'll come full circle,

Time and time again.

Believe it or not this is not the losing end.

We'll make sense of this.

And you tell me that it doesn't matter -

Today, today, today,

There will always be another today,

And we'll figure this out, we will find a way,

Yeah, you tell me no regrets,

I heard it the first time that you said:

I'll tell you only the truth my love,

I'll promise you that,

I tell you what you needed to hear,

You cannot force who you fall in love with,

You cannot help that. You know this.

Why is it we're the same, so much the same?

And anytime we get close, we never push away?

We just go in a direction unknown.

I'm not sure what we are anymore.

You called me after we talked for hours

over a couple of beers the other night.

To tell me thank you for your words

Because whether or not they were true, they helped.

Only you.